Half Year Favorites

I’ve been meaning to do this post for a few weeks now, but never got around to doing it until now. This first half of the year has really flown by! We’re nearly into the middle of June and I’m finishing up our second quarter at work – it’s pretty wild stuff. I thought this would be the perfect time to sit down and share some of my favorite things – almost like monthly favorites, but half year favorites. I’m pretty much winging this right now, so we’ll see how it goes!

Clothing

To be honest, I haven’t done much shopping at all – at least I’ve been trying really hard to not shop because I’m working on a savings plan. But there are a few things that my heart gave into that I’ve been loving and getting so much use out of, it’s ridiculous. These items have definitely paid for themselves in use!

One of the first items I bought this year were my favorite pair of jeans. I had been having a lot of trouble finding jeans lately. My body type is pretty average, kind of on the athletic side, but I have a pretty big butt – maybe miniature Kim K. I can be pretty self-conscious about it, but it is what it is. Anyway, jeans were usually too low or too high, too tight in the legs, basically every single problem you could think of, I had. It wasn’t until I went shopping with my boyfriend’s mom that I finally found a pair that were perfect! The jeans are by Lucky Brand and they are “Brooke Straight” in a dark wash. I got them on a great sale for about 50% off. Literally perfect. I wear them as often as I can. They sit perfectly on my waist and have enough give for my butt. Lucky Brand has definitely become my latest jean obsession.

309e177e-4e46-41d5-baea-5dc9f92f6b8f.jpg

My next best purchase this year was a pair of Franco Sarto ankle boots. I was looking for a great pair of brown boots, but the ones I’d seen in stores were either way too expensive or just not the right style. I found these on clearance at Marshall’s and snatched them on the spot. They took a little while to break in, but I’ve gotten so much use out of them and I know I’ll continue to get use out of them throughout the year. They look incredible with cuffed jeans and dresses. They’re perfect!

51215139-28d1-42b3-b962-57d5e2dd1a18.jpg

Another shoe purchase made me feel like I reverted back to my rebellious teenage years. When the weather started getting nicer, I was in search of a sneaker that I could wear to work. I was tired of wearing boots and flats and really needed something comfortable for all occasions. That’s when I went to my local Vans store and picked up my Washed Authentic Slim in Cream and True White with the brown leather laces. I wear these so, so much. They’re perfect for a casual outfit during the warmer months. I typically wear them with jeans at the office or shorts when I’m running around my town.

Lastly, my most recent purchase, which you can read more about here, is my Louis Vuitton Cles Pouchette. I literally use this every single day. It’s so chic and cute. It holds my driver’s license, cards, some money and it’s attached to my keys. When I’m running out the door, it’s the only thing I need.

Experiences

Back in March, my very loving and wonderful boyfriend agreed to go with me to the Fall Out Boy concert here in Chicago. I had been debating for nearly two months whether or not to buy tickets, and the day of, I just decided to buy the tickets and we went! I’ve been a huge fan of them forever. I mean they’re Chicago boys and their songs are basically the anthem of my youth. Surprisingly I hadn’t seen them until this year – so that was pretty exciting. It was such a good time!

Beauty

I’ve talked about Marlowe No. 2 Extra Moisturizing Body Lotion before and I’m going to talk about it again because I love it. This stuff is great. I bought it earlier this year when it was still winter in Chicago because my hands were getting really dry with the weather, but I think my hands are just dry all the time. I tend to wash my hands pretty often – just trying to staying clean – so my palms will get pretty dry and scaly. I’m always hesitant about buying new lotion because I hate strong scents and I can’t stand greasy hands. This lotion is super hydrating, has a really light, kind of sweet smell and it’s not greasy.  I would absolutely recommend checking this out.

6eb88f62-2246-494d-a352-e53ba45ef398.jpg

Some other purchase I’ve made include two really inexpensive and long lasting nail polishes. I recently purchased Vacation Time by Sinful Colors and it’s a really awesome muted mauve nude that’s perfect for summer. The other polish is Get Down by Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear. It’s a really cool magenta. It definitely looks like a berry type color. It’s so pretty!

The last product, which I’ve used before and loved, is the Volumizing Dry Shampoo by Tresemme. This is great for after workouts or after sweating all day in the sun. My hair usually gets pretty flat throughout the day and this is a lifesaver. It gives my hair a lot of body and volume without having to wash and style it again.

Hopefully this post was interesting and helpful in some way. Like I said, I haven’t been buying too many things lately because I’m trying to save for some larger items. These are just some of my favorite things from the first six months of the year. I’ll compile some more favorites throughout the rest of the year to share. If you have any questions about the items, feel free to leave a comment or message me!

Leave a Reply

