Beauty Benefits of Witch Hazel

When my usual toner started irritating my skin and making me break out, I had to find something else. I had read a lot of great reviews about witch hazel, but I was hesitant to try it – I didn’t want to make my face worse. I ended up going out on a limb when I stumbled across a bottle of Dickinson’s Original Witch Hazel at Bed, Bath and Beyond. Honestly, I haven’t looked back. Ever since I added witch hazel to my beauty routine, my face has become so much clearer and evenly toned. It seems to have reversed the damage on my face. Witch hazel is my savior, my secret weapon – I don’t know where I’d be without it!

A Little Background

Witch hazel comes from a plant species called winterbloom. This beauty staple contains tannins, which helps tighten skin, fights bacteria and reduces inflammation. Overall, it’s been used for the treatment of skin conditions, and we’re just finding out how it can benefit the skin on a daily basis.IMG_1983.JPG

Anti-inflammatory

Witch hazel has anti-inflammatory properties which help the skin when it comes to various rashes, including razor burn and bug bites. I’ve found that it really helps soothe and heal acne.

Astringent

Due to the high level of tannins, witch hazel makes for a potent astringent. The tannins tighten skin proteins, causing them to form a protective covering to help the healing of skin. This is really helpful for treating eczema and restoring vessel tone.

Moisturizer

Witch hazel is also used to lock in moisture. Scientists have found that it helps reduce water loss and maintains the skin’s softness and elasticity. Personally, I like to use witch hazel after a shower and before my moisturizer to clean any leftover residue on my face and lock in shower moisture.

Overall, witch hazel has so many uses, for both beauty and other skin conditions. I’ve seen so much improvement in my skin’s appearance. It really helps clean the face and dissolves makeup, as well as soothes and tones the skin.

Have you ever used witch hazel in your beauty routine?

Leave a Reply

