The Best Skin Care Tips for Your 20s

I had always been blessed with great, clear skin. I’ve always looked younger than I am, which was sometimes frustrating, but I generally knew I’d age gracefully. Recently, I have been dealing with some acne. All my life I had been fortunate enough to only have a pimple here and there. Once I graduate college and faced the real world, that had all changed.

I quit my second job out of college because I wasn’t happy and I was super stressed out. Going through the motions of applying to new jobs and interviewing while still having bills to pay really took a toll on my skin. I had breakouts on breakouts – which is generally not really how you want to walk into an interview… Thankfully I wasn’t auditioning to be a model or something.

Anyway, I got my new job, that I love, and my acne disappeared for a little while, until winter. When winter came, my skin was so dehydrated that it was overproducing oil to make up for it. I was living with a face I no longer recognized and feeling awful about myself. I’ve changed up my skin routine so much within the past few months, trying everything and anything that would work.

Now that winter is nearing it’s end, I have cleared up my face. The surprising thing is, I went back to my old ways with mild face wash and basic moisturizer – ah, just what the doctor ordered.

Here are some skin care tips I swear by and you should, too!

  1. Take care of your skin starting now. Like working out to take care of your body, you should start taking care of your skin early on. If you keep your skin healthy, you will remain timeless and ageless.
  2. Never sleep with your makeup on. It’s always easy to just go to bed after a long day of work, or a fun night out, but your skin will thank you later for the extra effort of removing your makeup at night. When you sleep with your makeup on, it decrease the body’s ability to repair itself and the skin.
  3. Wear SPF everyday. Sun damage is cumulative – the damage has already been done. Wear it everyday to protect your skin for the future.
  4. Exfoliate. While you should maintain a daily skincare routine, it’s best to exfoliate your face a couple times a week to remove dead skin cells and keep your face smooth.
  5. Be mindful of what you put in your body. Wearing SPF and moisturizer isn’t the end all be all of skincare. Skin and diet are linked more than people think. The healthier you eat, the better your skin will look.

It’s never too late to start taking care of yourself and your skin. Whether your stressed and have acne or not, maintain a great skincare routine and put your best face forward.

2 thoughts on “The Best Skin Care Tips for Your 20s

Leave a Reply

