Getting back into the workout grind after a year off…

While I was in college, I was very active and super healthy. I would workout out for over an hour each day and watch my portions. I wasn’t a body builder or a model, but I was happy.

Fast forward to graduation and a couple jobs later, I found myself tired all the time and eating crap. My first job was one of those weird, almost illegal, marketing pyramid schemes. Basically, I would stand in a Sam’s Club or a Costco and be one of those annoying vendors selling various skin creams, hair straighteners, diet pills, and bamboo pillows (which are actually really cool). I had long days, of about 10 hours, and worked for commission only so I could one day be in charge of a weird scheme like that. It was about a month of Sam’s Club pizza and nachos until I called it quits.

I then got a job at an insurance agency where I had to work long hour and weekends without lunch to sell car insurance. I was always tired and stressed out. I ate healthier because I was sitting all day long, and I worked out sometimes. Once work was done, I was done. I stayed there for about five months.

I now work at a job I love, and actually went to school for, a year later… I go to work happy and I leave work happy. I eat small snacks throughout the day, and a generally healthy lunch. I finally saved up enough money to buy a treadmill for my home – because it’s far too cold for me to walk to my car and drive to the gym, or workout outside.

Lately, I’ve been getting back on my grind, relieving any stress I have the old fashioned way, working it out physically. I found this article on BuzzFeed, 15 Former Couch Potatoes Share Their Best Tips For Getting In Shape, and thought that is so me. They have some really great tips. Here are a few of my favorites!

  1. Portion control
  2. Get enough sleep
  3. Find a workout you love
  4. Do some kind of activity for at least 30 minutes a day
  5. Build a foundation of good habits and add to it

What are some of your favorite tips? How do you stay motivated to stay in shape?

Leave a Reply

